Pope names Martin Jumoad as Archbishop of Ozamiz!

Pope names Martin Jumoad as Archbishop of Ozamiz

Filed under: Headlines |

MANILA, Oct. 4, 2016— Pope Francis has named Bishop Martin Jumoad as the new Archbishop of Ozamiz.

Archbishop-elect Jumoad has been serving for 14 years as bishop of the Prelature of Isabela in Basilan.

“I thank God for giving me another chance to serve another local church particularly in Ozamiz. I thank Pope Francis for his trust and confidence in me for this new assignment,” Jumoad said.

“I leave Basilan with a heavy heart because I know the people and they love me. I will go to Ozamiz with faith and hope that the Lord will never abandon me and He will show me what to do,” he said. “Please pray for me!”

The appointment by Pope Francis was announced Tuesday.

He succeeds 77-year old Archbishop Jesus Dosado, whose resignation from the pastoral care of the archdiocese was accepted by the Pope.

Jumoad, 59, will be the fourth archbishop of the Ozamiz archdiocese which covers the suffragan dioceses of Dipolog, Iligan, Pagadian and Marawi.

A native of Cebu City, the prelate was ordained a priest in April 1983.

Pope John Paul II appointed him to head the Prelature of Isabela in November 2001. His episcopal ordination was on January 10, 2002. He was installed on Jan. 12, 2002.

The archbishop-elect is currently member of CBCP’s Commission on Migrants and Itinerant People and the Commission on Mission. (CBCPNews with reports from John Frances Fuentes) Source: http://www.cbcpnews.com/cbcpnews/?p=85312

Leave a Reply

