Criticism about Our Catholic Faith, By: Nicholai Luceños

One of my Schoolmate and being a friend of mine nowadays and became now as one of our instructor here in Saint Vincent’s College in law subjects, even in accounting subjects he teach because he is a newly passed as a Certified Public Accountant . I ‘am very amazed of this person even up to today as a hardworking Student in terms of studying and also in religious matter has also a interest to know about them and if necessary to tackle it. In the fast few months before being a CPA he talk to me asking some question about doctrines or even confusion of what is being stated in the bible and I admit, I did not have a full knowledge about faith but I will do my best to answer and it simply also about time to know and other.Nowadays I see him at the library reading newspaper and he also saw me. He approached me about preaching , asking that am I continue in preaching and I answer Yes Sir, I did to continue and he asked can you preach me and I tell I will preach you if do you have a question about faith even my Catholic Faith and I answer If  I have the answer honestly because as what I have know with someone told me he is a born-again Christian. Being himself as a Born-Again Christian I prepared about criticism about my Catholic Faith and I make it into reality. The Following question has been asked and I answer even with the full of people inside w/the library and our voice were loud and I control it to stay in silent way of answering and argumentation.

QUESTION NO. 1

Brother!, What is your definition about Idolatry?

ANSWER: In my opinion  , Idolatry is an act of adoration being a God which is not truly a God and it can mean as gods and goddess. Like for example; you assume being a doctor even you are not truly a Licensed Doctor and it is being known as fake doctor or doctor doctor. On the side of images of saints, icon of Mother Mary is not a God. The Roman Catholic Church is did not teach that saints even Mother Mary to worship as God.

THE CATECHISM OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH SAYS;

2131  Basing itself on the mystery of the incarnate Word, the seventh ecumenical council at Nicaea (787) justified against the iconoclasts the veneration of icons – of Christ, but also of the Mother of God, the angels, and all the saints. By becoming incarnate, the Son of God introduced a new “economy” of images.

2132 The Christian veneration of images is not contrary to the first commandment which proscribes idols. Indeed, “the honor rendered to an image passes to its prototype,” and “whoever venerates an image venerates the person portrayed in it.”70 The honor paid to sacred images is a “respectful veneration,” not the adoration due to God alone:

QUESTION NO.2

Brother !, Why you Catholics have a impression or an act even some praise as holy person or a blessed on John Paul the Second, that is an act of adoration being God?

ANSWER: Brother , Pope John Paul the Great is not a God even question him if he still alive . On the side of actions it is only a veneration or respect even Intercession in prayer we ask to him is not contrary to the bible.

As What the Bible Says;

JOB 42:8

New Living Translation (NLT)

So take seven bulls and seven rams and go to my servant Job and offer a burnt offering for yourselves. My servant Job will pray for you, and I will accept his prayer on your behalf. I will not treat you as you deserve, for you have not spoken accurately about me, as my servant Job has.”

On this verse , what doesn’t mean on a prayer in behalf of others. The prayer in behalf of others is an Intercession. Even in the Old Testament there is a prayer that can seek and asked for someone. What is  also our proof in the New Testament because we are a Christian enligned with the New Testament is there any verse tells about Intercession.

1 Timothy 2:1

King James Version (KJV)

I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men;

Romans 15:30-31

King James Version (KJV)

30 Now I beseech you, brethren, for the Lord Jesus Christ’s sake, and for the love of the Spirit, that ye strive together with me in your prayers to God for me;

31 That I may be delivered from them that do not believe in Judaea; and that my service which I have for Jerusalem may be accepted of the saints;

Colossians 1:3

King James Version (KJV)

3 We give thanks to God and the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, praying always for you,

 

 

SOURCE ON THE VERSES QUOTED IN THE BIBLE IS;
http://www.biblegateway.com/versions/New-Living-Translation-NLT-Bible/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

